[dropcap]H[/dropcap]ow did I decide how to mark my Conservative Party leadership ballot?

Virtually all the candidates spout the same lines on personal and corporate taxes (lowering them), and some other key issues.

So I judged based a variety of other factors where the candidates’ position on issues were actually different: abortion, gun rights, supply management, ending the CBC, carbon tax; and the more esoteric things like their the detail of their plans, their web site and the information contained therein, history, how they managed the narrative, and a host of other things.

The fact that there were 14 candidates, and so the attendant lack of my time for this, and the confusion and laziness that such a big roster brings to my table — also played a pretty big role in my balloting, especially after rank 5. That, and enormous boredom after this seemingly 58-year-long leadership process.

1. Maxime Bernier
2. Brad Trost
3. Pierre Lemieux
4. Andrew Scheer
5. Erin O’Toole
6. Steven Blaney
7. Andrew Saxton
8. Chris Alexander
9. Kellie Leitch
10. Deepak Obhrai

—- Voters only get 10 choices —-

11. Rick Peterson
12. Lisa Raitt
13. Michael Chong

Kevin O’Leary would have been #10 or so.